Sutton was in the olden days a village but is now part of the Town of Georgina after amalgamation with it and North Gwillimbury in 1971.
Housing buildups came in the mid-20th century to the northern side and continued slowly until the 1980s. The tract 2 km to the east continued in the 1980s and the early-1990s while each street is alphabetized from A to L.
Construction projects later lagged in the 1990s and the 2000s and the population has slowed. The quaint, but flourishing region reflects the rich history of Georgina.
Like many settlements in Ontario, industry was the leading force behind the Village's origin. The site was first a dam, impeding the flow of Black River three miles in from Lake Simcoe.
It was titled Bouchier Mills after the pioneer who built the dam in 1831. In 1864, after further growth as well as the building of St. James Anglican Church, the Village's name was changed from Bouchier Mills to Sutton.