Dong xu 3
Location:Richmond Hill Centre for the Performing Arts
Address:171 Town Centre Blvd Markham Map
Start date:May 8, 2020
Time:08:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Tchaikovsky’s evocative Cappriccio Italien is a musical travelogue painting the landscape of the composer’s journey to Rome. Pianist Dong Xu returns to the limelight to perform a stunning rare work for the left hand alone: Piano Concerto No. 4 by Sergei Prokofiev. From seemingly inconsequential playful musical quotes to deeply profound phrases, Shostakovich’s ultimate Symphony No. 15 embodies a range of musical emotion analogous to the composer and his life.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Dong Xu | pianist

Michael Berec | host

7:10 p.m. Prélude (pre-concert recital)
7:20 p.m. Pre-concert talk in the foyer of Richmond Hill Centre
Intermission discussion with Michael Berec and Dong Xu

Tchaikovsky, Capriccio Italien
Prokofiev, Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 4, Op. 53
Shostakovich, Symphony No. 15, Op. 141