Cirque Éloize - Cirkopolis

Ce poster cirkopolis eng 36x24
Community:Toronto
Location:Sony Centre for the Performing Arts
Address:1 Front Street East Toronto Map
Start date:March 1, 2017
End date:March 12, 2017
Time:01:00 PM – 10:00 PM

With Cirkopolis, Cirque Éloize presents a show that combines the worlds of circus, dance and theatre. In the heart of a stern and imposing city in appearance, giant gears and dark portals symbolize a mechanism that crushes individuality.

Performing within an inventive stage design and accompanied by an original musical score and video projections, eleven acrobats and multidisciplinary artists rebel against monotony, reinvent themselves and challenge the limits of the factory-city. In a world where fantasy provokes reality, the veil of anonymity and solitude is lifted and replaced by bursts of colour.

Cirkopolis unfolds scene by scene like an elemental universe, with sculptural imagery: jugglers brave the space, a contortionist is lifted by her companions in a surge of inspiration, aerial artists defy the height of the skyscrapers. Experiencing Cirkopolis is also stepping into the dance of the Cyr wheel, dreading the audacity of the German wheel and discovering the candour of a man who dreams only of dancing.

Wed Mar 1, 7:30 PM
Thu Mar 2, 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 3, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 4, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 4, 1:00 PM
Sun Mar 5, 1:00 PM
Wed Mar 8, 7:30 PM
Thu Mar 9, 7:30 PM
Fri Mar 10, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 11, 7:30 PM
Sat Mar 11, 1:00 PM
Sun Mar 12, 1:00 PM

Events calendar

JUL 24+
Oct 1 – Oct 7, 2017 Newmarket
JUL 24+
Oct 2 – Aug 27, 2017 Toronto
JUL 24+
Oct 2 – Aug 27, 2017 Scarborough
JUL 24+
Nov 14 – Nov 27, 2017 Scugog
JUL 24+
Dec 28 – Dec 27, 2017 Toronto
JUL 24+
Dec 31 – Dec 5, 2017 East York
JUL 24+
Jan 3 – Dec 26, 2017 Toronto