100 acres on the north side of the West Humber River, lies Thistletown.
In 1845-46 Grubb purchased Lot 33 of Concessions A & B and hired a local surveyor to form a plan of subdivision for a village to be named St. Andrews after his home in Scotland.
The village, which was never incorporated, was the first Etobicoke village to be registered with the County of York on June 11, 1847.
The village was renamed to Thistletown, in honour of Dr. William Thistle by his son John who became the first village postmaster.
Elm Bank is one of the five oldest homes in Toronto built between 1802 and 1820 made of ledge stones brought up from the close West Humber River and is a unique surviving example of a Regency cottage.
Around the 1950s planner Rex Heslop began development of a massive industrial and residential estate. Today, 1960s-style retail strips are main built-form.