Sarah davidson gurney  1
Location:Cornell Recital Hall
Address:3201 Bur Oak Ave Markham Map
Start date:June 6, 2020
Time:08:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Markham’s 2020 Contemporary Music Festival is pleased to present a modern-day homage to the eighteenth century along with a newly commissioned work. In collaboration with ballet impresario Diaghilev, Stravinsky rediscovers the past in his neo-classical Pulcinella Suite based on the centuries-old commedia dell’arte character. The Kindred Spirits Orchestra commissions composer Werner Chan for an exciting original work for violin and chamber orchestra.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Sarah Davidson-Gurney | violinist
Michael Berec | host

Stravinsky, Pulcinella Suite
Werner Chan, Concerto for violin and orchestra*

* World première, commissioned by the KSO