Location:Cornell Recital Hall
Address:3201 Bur Oak Ave. Markham Map
Start date:June 8, 2019
Time:08:00 PM – 10:00 PM

A centerpiece to Markham’s 2019 Contemporary Music Festival, the Kindred Spirits Orchestra presents a multi-media concert of ground-breaking twentieth century music. One of his last musical works during his younger Post-Romantic musical output, twelve-tone composer Schönberg adheres to classical musical form while pushing the boundaries of harmony and tonality in his Kammersymphonie No. 1. Written in 1979, Schnittke’s Concerto for Piano and Strings is founded on stark contrasts: “sunshine” and “storm clouds,” in the words of the composer himself. In addition, this concert will also feature an audio-visual presentation about the lives of these two "revolutionary" composers.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Antonia deWolfe | pianist

Michael Berec | host

Schnittke, Concerto for piano and strings
Schönberg, Kammersymphonie, Op. 9