Location:Flato Markham Theatre
Address:171 Town Centre Blvd Markham Map
Start date:December 15, 2018
Time:08:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Set to Byron’s gothic fiction Manfred, Schumann sketches his most impassioned score of a guilt-ridden protagonist in pursuit of death. Pianist Michael Berkovsky commands invention and endurance on stage with Rachmaninoff’s virtuosic showpiece, Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. The only one of his symphonies to receive a subtitle, the Symphony No. 4 “Romantic” by the devout Austrian composer Anton Bruckner is an extensive work filled with spirit and sonority.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Michael Berkovsky | pianist

Michael Berec | host

7:15 p.m. Prélude (pre-concert recital)
7:30 p.m. Pre-concert talk
Intermission discussion with Michael Berec and Michael Berkovsky
Post-concert live jazz with complimentary glass of Champagne

Schumann, Manfred Overture, Op. 115
Rachmaninoff, Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43
Bruckner, Symphony No. 4