May 20
Location:171 Town Centre Blvd, Markham, Ontario L3R 8G5
Start date:May 20, 2017
Time:08:00 PM – 11:00 PM

Join Maestro Kristian Alexander as he leads the KSO through an impassioned journey of musical delight. Brahms’ Tragic Overture is a fitting title to a dark and heart-rending score that “weeps”, as its composer described. Twenty years is well worth the wait for Brahms to write a second piano concerto; Younggun Kim returns to the KSO to masterfully interpret this extensive and novel work, composed at the height of the composer’s career. Commissioned to commemorate Sibelius’ 50th birthday, his Symphony No. 5 was revised numerous times after its premiere that resulted in an idiosyncratic work of epic proportions.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Younggun Kim | pianist

Alexa Petrenko | host (Nation's Classical 96.3 FM radio)

7:15 p.m. Prélude (pre-concert recital)
7:30 p.m. Pre-concert talk in the foyer of Markham Theatre
Intermission discussion with Alexa Petrenko and Younggun Kim
Post-concert complimentary glass of Champagne

Brahms, Tragische Overture, Op. 81
Brahms, Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2, Op. 83
Sibelius, Symphony No. 5, Op. 63

To reserve your seats, go to or call 905.305.7469.