Jordan was originally settled in 1700’s. Many of the early settlers were of German descent and many were Mennonities . A small settlement along the banks of the Twenty Mile Creek became known as Glen Elgin. In the late 1850s, the Great Western Railway was established and many industries moved away from Glen Elgin.
In 1962 Manly Ball sold the land to the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Area and the town, now known as Ball's Falls, is now a tourist attraction.
For a glimpse of the past, visitors can head to the Jordan Historical Museum of the Twenty that features two historic buildings: an 1816 log house and an 1859 stone school house, both fully restored.